Skip to content

Yet another update

October 6, 2013

I’ve been hard at work on a new, new revamp of EQ Editor. It’s been quite a bit slower as other work has taken up the bulk of my time. I am very excited about the work I have been doing, and I feel like the result will finally be close to the vision I’ve had for this project from the start.

Just writing to let you all know that this isn’t “on hiatus” or vapor-ware and I do appreciate the support I’ve received. It’s just taking time.

From → Uncategorized

11 Comments
  1. Bardolobo permalink

    Hi! Great to have news about your app. Hungry to watch the new version. But please please please, remember there are some of us with iPad 1gen and the same, so don’t do it a iOS 7 only version 😀

  2. Christoffer Røn permalink

    I just bought the app, when I saw the last update was a year ago I was afraid the app has been given up. So it is good to knowhow thar something is going on 🙂

  3. Sarah permalink

    Do you have links to any longer reviews or samples of work for elementary and high school students?

    I am looking for an app that will let my students “show their work” in multi-step equations (order of operations, linear algebra) without needing to accurately draw numbers and variables.

    (something like equation editor from older versions of word would be great – LaTex is way more than we need – I don’t know how to use it myself, much less teach it to 12 year olds!)

    Thanks for any suggestions. I’d love to pick up your app (and get my principal to buy many more for our school set of ipads) but can’t tell if it will suit my needs.

    Sarah

    • Unfortunately, there haven’t been any online reviews for EQ Editor that I know about, though I haven’t gone out trying to solicit any either. I agree with you that LaTeX would be overkill for most Elementary and High School students.

      I will send you an email with some material and screenshots and the that will hopefully give you some idea about what EQ Editor does and whether or not it will meet your needs.

      • Sarah permalink

        Thank you! This week is crazy, but I’ll take a look at the materials you sent and let you know.

      • Okay, no worries!

  4. I would like to know if I want to write something like a math ePub for students, should it get EQWriter or EQNotebook?

    • You should definitely pick EQ Writer over notebook. I haven’t really had time to update Notebook.

      However, the current ePub standard doesn’t support MathML and hasn’t ever supported TeX math. You can get display equations to show up in ePub by converting the math to an image, and EQ Writer will let you do that manually, but it maybe tedious if you have lots of math.

  5. I want to include my own CSS file. How can I do it ?

    • Sorry about the delay, I’m kind of in a different time zone from you I think.

      In terms of CSS, I didn’t write anything in Notebook that would let you swap in CSS from the app directly. If you’re dealing with ePub, those are just XHTML that have been bundled with ZIP in a special way. You would need to unzip them. Replace the existing CSS with what you want and then re zip and rename the file to .epub

      Three things to keep in mind: the only way the reader knows where your files are is through the XML files called the manifest. So adding new files requires changing that. The zip has to be done through the command line in a specific way (Google should help there). And finally, readers can always change the appearance inside the ePub reader.

Leave a Reply

